Skip to main content

Sandy Durell

Childminder

I provide a small-scale childcare but with the extra addition of a homelike environment. By staying small I am able to provide the quality care and nurturing atmosphere that your child deserves.

I provide a safe, happy place for children, where they can learn and grow and have fun! A place where parents know they can safely leave their children and know their child's well being is paramount.

'Sandy's Childminding Services' isn't a nursery but I follow the 'EYFS' and provide informal themes. Children can do lots of craft, art activities, cooking, exploring the natural environment outside, music, stories, childminding group, visiting libraries and much more.

Who to contact

Name
Mrs Sandy Durell
Address
5
Cordell Road
Long Melford
Sudbury
Suffolk
Postcode
CO10 9EH
Venue Notes

Near transport - Chambers and Felix buses.

Telephone
01787 311236
Email
Sandydurell@btinternet.com

Venue Details

Address
Long Melford
Sudbury
Suffolk
Parking available
Parking details
Yes
Notes

Near transport - Chambers and Felix buses.

30 Hours Extended Entitlements

Registered to provide 30 Hours?
No

Vacancies

Last updated
17/07/2019
Immediate vacancies
Yes
Other information
I have a Tuesday and Wednesday vacancy for a preschool child

Days & times

Monday to Thursday: Earliest 07.30am - 4.30 ( other times to be arranged)

Inclusive Provisions

Wheelchair access
No
Cultural provisions
Yes - This setting complies with equalities legislation.
Individual dietary needs
Yes - Parents can inform the setting of their child's dietary needs.
Recent experience of supporting children with additional needs
Yes - I have done courses on Makaton and autism.
Specific additional needs this setting has experience of
Autistic spectrum
Speech and language difficulties

Costs

Details
* Please contact the childminder directly for cost * The hourly cost is higher for children minded for less than 3 hours a day, including after school care.

Other Details

Facilities
Arts and crafts, Close to parks, Equipment for all ages, Garden, Out-door play, Pets, Playroom, Quiet area, Sleeping area, TV - DVD, Take children on outings
School pickups
Long Melford Church of England Primary School (Sudbury)
Further information about pick-ups
Long Melford Nursery
Cater for over 8s
Yes
Age Range
From 3 Year(s) 3 month(s)
To 10 Year(s) 0 month(s)
Offers Tax Free Childcare
Yes
Last Updated
17/07/2019

Ofsted Information

Ofsted URN
250650
Link to latest ofsted inspection report 
Inspection history
Inspection History
Inspection DateInspection typeInspection Outcome
06/02/2007CareGood
07/01/2011Inspection (Early Years Register)Good
16/09/2015Inspection (Early Years Register)Good
02/10/2018Inspection (Early Years Register)Good

Local Offer Local Offer Record

Experience of including people with special educational needs and disabilities

As an early years childminder I assess and observe all the children continually in line with the early years foundation stage set out by the goverment.

I talk with my parents at the start of the working day and the end.

A two year old development check is undertaken jointly with parents to review ongoing progress.

Any concerns I have will be discussed with you initally and with your permission, I would speak to professionals to gain further advice

I access specific training as the needs arise to ensure my professional knowledge and development is continued.

I am first aid trained which I renew every 3 years.I have attended training in safeguarding children, which I attend every 3 years to keep up to date.

I am responsible for each child's safety and security-both physically and mentally during their time in my care. Emotionally I aim to support and enhance each child's self -confidence and self- esteem. Physically I aim to keep them safe from harm.

I have a behaviour policy, which I implement.positive behaviour is always encouraged and praised.

I work from a three bedroomed semi- detached house.There are 2 big steps from the pathway to my front garden and 1 big step to my front door.Inside, my doorways are large enough for a wheelchair. I have a downstairs cloakroom (unable to accomodate a wheelchair).

There is a small step from my back door to the garden.The outdoor area is partly grassed and partly patio. In the garden there is one large step and two smaller steps.I have an accessible gate to the rear of the garden, which is kept locked for safety, and also a side gate also kept locked for safety.

I can provide allsorts of special diets, but, would discuss each child's individual needs and requirements with the parent's.

This offer remains the same 9/5/19

Contact
Sandy Durell
Telephone
01787 311236
Conditions Supported
Autistic spectrum conditions
Communication difficulties
Health conditions
Learning difficulties
Mental health conditions
Physical disabilities
Sensory impairments

More like this

Child care

Reviews

Sign in to write a review

Back to top