Leave Website
Skip to main content

Charlotte Nicholson (The Playhouse) | Community Directory

Charlotte Nicholson (The Playhouse)

Childminder
General Details

I am an Ofsted registered childminder. I have worked in childcare for a number of years and I have my own son Jude who is 10. I am reliable, cheerful, fun and trustworthy. I cater for all ages within my provision offering a fun and stimulating environment. I am flexible so please ask if alternate hours is something needed.

My Father volunteers alongside me  and has had all the relevant checks. We work very well as a team and the children thrive from the level of care and interaction provided from both of us. 

I try to be as flexible as possible to meet both parent and child's needs. I do a range of crafts and activities with children to keep the children engaged and stimulated in a safe and happy environment I meet the early years foundation stage requirements by planning daily activities around Communication & Language, Physical Development, Expressive art and Design, Literacy, Maths,Understanding the world, Personal Social & Emotional Development & Characteristics of Effective learning.

The older school children have time do any home work they have as soon as we get home from school if that is what the parents want. I will also help with reading if asked. I do prepare meals at an extra charge but find most of the families prefer to have meal times with their children work permitting.

  The garden is fully enclosed and safe for the children to play freely. With a play house equipped with a kitchen and play food bikes trikes tractor a bouncy castle and more. we have a paddling pool in the summer for toddlers and the older children with gazebo to protect from the sun. we have sand and water play. 

I like people to feel at ease and have fun in my home. I treat the children in my home as part of my family.

I can take children from birth to 13yrs.

I regularly take the children out and about we go to parks playgroups and socialise with other childminders and settings.  I arrange outings in the holiday periods involving the parents who wish to be a part of them or other helpers the children are always under my supervision and never left alone with anyone other than myself or my assistant. The outings could be anything from a trip to the zoo, beach,  museum or crabbing which is a favourite with most of the children we have a lovely holiday home lodge at Felixstowe beach where the children love to have days out as its right on the sea front.

I work in partnership with the parents swapping information on the children both on arrival and collections. I keep learning journeys up to date and other relevant documents. 

I sit with potential new parents and children and go through my policies and contracts with them we do a starting point for the child so we are both happy with were they are at the beginning. I show them a welcome pack which includes all my qualifications and insurances and registration details.

In holiday periods I offer a more laid back service than in school time as we have such a varied age range of children and am aware that for the school age children it is a holiday and should be treated as such but i still have a duty of care to the younger preschool aged children. with this in mind i arrange a list of days out to include lots of fun with education thrown in. This way the older ones feel they have had the fun time they want and the younger ones are getting the different areas of learning they need to. What ever we do their safety remains a priority and risk assessment is taken seriously.

Who to contact

Name
Charlotte Nicholson
Position
Childminder
Address
4
Kelvin Drive
Haverhill
Suffolk
Postcode
CB9 7SX
Telephone
07794784814
07794784814
Mobile
447794784814
Email
charli_nicholson@hotmail.co.uk
Social Media
 Like us on Facebook

Venue Details

Address
4
Kelvin Drive
Haverhill
Suffolk
Postcode
CB9 7SX
Parking available
Yes
Parking details
Yes
Transport
Own Transport

30 Hours Extended Entitlements

Registered to provide 30 Hours?
Yes

Vacancies

Last updated
16/12/2020
Immediate vacancies
Yes
Other information
Full time Eyfs spaces available & Before & After School Club.

Days & times

Monday to Friday: 07:00 - 18:00

Inclusive Provisions

Wheelchair access
Yes
Cultural provisions
Yes - This childminder complies with all equalities legislation.
Individual dietary needs
Yes - Talk to parents and ask parents to complete an All about me form. Records. Getting to know child.
Recent experience of supporting children with additional needs
Yes - I used to work for Mencap.
Specific additional needs this setting has experience of
Autistic spectrum
Downs syndrome
Global Delay
Speech and language difficulties

Costs

Table of costs
Table of costs
AmountCost Type
4.75 Per hour
Per day
Per week
5.75 per hour (Before Sch)
5.75 per hour (After Sch)
Details
I have a minimum of 6 hour policy. Fees are to be paid in advance no later than the 1st of the month.

Other Details

Facilities
Accessible parking, Arts and crafts, Baby facilities, Close to parks, Computer, Equipment for all ages, Forest school, Games consoles, Garden, Healthy eating, Homework support, Kitchen, Out-door play, Outdoor play equipment, Pet small mammals, Playroom, Private changing area, Quiet area, Sensory play equipment, Sleeping area, Slide, Swings, TV - DVD, Take children on outings, Trampoline
School pickups
Westfield Primary Academy (Haverhill)
Further information about pick-ups
Steeple Bumpstead, St Felix, Westfield, New Cangle, Steeple Bumpstead.
Cater for over 8s
Yes
Age Range
From 0 Year(s)
To 13 Year(s)
Offers Tax Free Childcare
Yes
Last Updated
16/12/2020

Ofsted Information

Ofsted URN
EY486147
Link to latest ofsted inspection report 
Inspection history
Inspection History
Inspection DateInspection typeInspection Outcome
23/06/2017Inspection (Early Years Register)Good

Local Offer Local Offer Record

Links
http://www.theplayhousechildcaresuffolk.com

More like this

Child care

Reviews

Sign in to write a review