Worried about the cost of living? Need some support? Find out more here

Paula Walker


I am 46 years old and live with my husband and 2 of my children. My eldest daughter is married with 2, beautiful children of her own.  We had our son in December 2006 and were over the moon to have a little man in the family to keep dad company. I am a registered childminder and would describe myself as a caring, bubbly, energetic person who loves working with children of all ages. I provide a safe, happy and caring environment for children to develop in my care. I attend local toddler groups and take regular trips to my local parks and offer a number of activities both indoors and out. I have a National Diploma in Social Care and a Certificate in Early Years First Aid. I have worked in many primary schools whilst on my college course. I also had three years as a Cub Scout leader, which I loved. I am fully aware that childcare needs to be flexible after being a working mum and aim to be flexible regarding hours. I will provide a professional service at the same time as ensuring children in my care learn through play and develop as individuals. I value my business and have built up a clientele over the sixteen years who have also become very dear friends. I offer a huge range of days out and activities in the school holidays. We have adventures together that the children love and talk about for months. I am now into my sixteenth year of childminding and still learn something new everyday. I can offer funded places and can also add you to a waiting list. I truly love my job and found my calling in life. 

3 & 4 year old funding

Who to contact

Jarman Close
Bury St Edmunds
IP33 2PR
01284 762072

Venue Details

Parking available

Yes, we are very close to the bus route.



30 Hours Extended Entitlements

Registered to provide 30 Hours?


Last updated
Immediate vacancies
Other information
You can be added to a waiting list until a suitable vacancy becomes available.

Days & times

Monday to Friday: 08:00 - 18:00

Inclusive Provisions

Wheelchair access
Cultural provisions
Yes - Consideration will be taken when arranging activities to meet the needs of different cultures/faiths and beliefs.
Individual dietary needs
Yes - Please discuss any needs with myself.
Recent experience of supporting children with additional needs


Table of costs
Table of costs
AmountCost Type
£5.00 Per hour

Other Details

Accessible parking, Arts and crafts, Close to parks, Computer, Enclosed outdoor play area, Equipment for all ages, Games consoles, Garden, Healthy eating, Homework support, Kitchen, Out-door play, Outdoor play equipment, Pet dogs, Pet fish, Pets, Quiet area, Sleeping area, TV, TV - DVD, Take children on outings
School pickups
Hardwick Primary School (Bury St Edmunds)
Further information about pick-ups
Hardwick Pre School
Cater for over 8s
Age Range
From 0 Year(s)
To 12 Year(s)
Offers Tax Free Childcare

Ofsted Information

Ofsted URN
Link to latest ofsted inspection report 
Inspection history
Inspection History
Inspection DateInspection typeInspection Outcome
04/11/2011Inspection (Early Years Register)Good
25/04/2013Inspection (Early Years Register)Good
12/01/2017Inspection (Early Years Register)Good

Local Offer

Local Offer

More like this

Child care


Sign in to write a review

Kids are treated like part of the family Rated 5 out of 5
Paula is an amazing childminder. Although that word 'amazing' doesn't really cover it. My daughter has been with Paula for around 6 years and my son for around 3 years. Paula and her husband, son and daughters all treat my children as if they are part of the family. There is a lot of love given and laughter by the bucket load! Paula makes sure the children are not only having fun but are also learning at the same time (without knowing it!). They often come home with lovely crafts, I am running out of space to display them! Basically, Paula is a very caring, loving person who treats every child like her own and I would recommend her whole-heartedly to anyone who needs a childminder. The guilt of leaving your children is hard enough without wondering if the person is looking after them well. You have no worries with Paula as she is awesome!

Sign in to comment

Review submitted on 26/04/2017

Amazing Childminder Rated 5 out of 5
Paula has looked after my child for 3 years, and he has flourished and grown into a confident happy child who loves going to spend time with her. She is reliable and provides a safe stimulating environment, with plenty of new resources so he never gets bored. During the school holidays they have a trip out/special activities every day. This summer there were many fun days to choose from but he really enjoyed the day Paula had a bouncy castle in the back garden. Paula provides a constant approach with encouraging good positive behaviour and works with each child so they can achieve their best at all times.

Sign in to comment

Review submitted on 26/04/2017


Save to Shortlist

Last Updated

Last updated:

Back to top